Author Topic: The Complete Guide of how to Edit Game Files  (Read 2124 times)

Offline Methane

• Pooper Scooper
The Complete Guide of how to Edit Game Files
« on: July 02, 2006, 03:50:42 PM »
These guides were written for the origional ZT2 game. There are a few differences in the entitie file locations if you use EA/AA. Penguinman was kind enough to inform me of this and give a solution:

If you have ONLY ES:
x100_000.z2f for ANY animal including original ZT2 animals

If you have AA and ES or just AA:
x110_000.z2f for AA animals
x100_000.z2f for ES animals
x101_000.z2f for Original animals

I believe the AI file and other locations are the same.

So, ZT2 doesn't have many cheats, right? Well, nobody never said you couldn't make them yourself! Because I'm a fairly good coder, I've seen many possible ways to blatantly cheat. And I thought, why not just share them with everyone? Anyone can do this stuff, even people with no experiance whatsoever. All you need is a free program called WinRAR (or WinZip) (downloadable by looking up WinRAR in Google or another engine.)

(First things first, excuse my spelling. I'm terrible at it. If you notice any obvious errors, please PM me saying I messed something up so I can edit it out).

Unlike the first version of the guide, I'm not going to tell you how to do specific things. I have several seperate guides that take you step-by-step through certian things. Here, I'm going to tell you how to read code and change things you see yourself, even if I don't have a guide for it. I'm writing this assuming you have minimal experiance with code editing.

The Rules
[/SIZE]

If you already have experiance with file editing, and know not how to do things like corrupt files and ruin your game, skip down to post 2. For those of you who are just entering the world of game file editing, READ THIS!

The Ten Commandments of Game File Editing:
1. There IS a limit. Respect it.