Author Topic: Ideas for designing zoos?  (Read 5278 times)

Offline yamicat_mage

• Pooper Scooper
Ideas for designing zoos?
« on: November 14, 2006, 05:40:54 PM »
I'm not good at creating good zoo layouts. I wanna be more creative but all I can come up with is a flat grassland zoo with square exibits. Its so hard juggling resturant areas and habitats. Any tips for designing a fancier zoo?:bounce:

Offline Giraffe

• Pooper Scooper
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2006, 04:57:01 AM »
Square or rectangular shouldn't be boring or dull. In fact, there's nothing wrong about it.

Actually I haven't seen many non-angular exhibits in zoos. And I've seen a couple of zoos... Being an aquarium keeper, I am very much against round bowls. It's no good for the animals.

How do you create your zoos? Do you place a fence and then put some grass in it? Then things get dull.
Refrain from doing that. Dare to be creative. The sky is the limit.

Create a landscape first. Add features to your landscape like some hills and water. The corners can be a good starting point to draw your landscape. Make some hills there and surround it by a lake. Make a waterfall. Add trees, rocks etc. You'll see it will look nice. Place some flamingoes in it or other animals who need water. You can that waterfall be the source of a river. Let the river flow through your zoo. Not in a straight line but in a natural way.

A lake might be a nice spot to build a restaurant.

For smaller animals you can use triangular exhibits. Round exhibits should be large so that the animals won't get dizzy turning round the perimeter.

Have fun!:wink:

Offline Bengal

• ChinchillAddict!
  • Gl?bal Moderator
  • Game Warden
    • http://
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2006, 05:22:01 AM »
Very detailed advice, Giraffe!