Author Topic: Meshing  (Read 12245 times)

Offline Littlemog

• Pooper Scooper
    • http://
Meshing
« on: September 05, 2006, 01:41:47 AM »
I have a feeling Simba's found a simpler way to do this (possibly with blender) but this is how I've done it so far.

This will only cover modelling, since coding and skinning are already covered in things like APE. (and I'm not much at coding or skinning anyway)

Also: I could do this in a zip and all, but I don't have FrontPage, I only have word, and since there's a tutorial forum, it kinda made sense to put it here?

The basics: What you can, and can't do (as of so far)

This is a mesh: This is the shape of your animal. The 'bones' or 'rig' control the movement. When you change a mesh, it might not fit the bones: This doesn't matter. The movement adjusts vertices: Hence, your animal will still move as it has to, but collision detection (which wasn't much in the first place) will be shot: ie, if you make the neck longer on a grazing animal, the head should work fine, but when it grazes it's head may go through the ground.

I haven't tried editing the rig setup, as I've had practice with modelling in general but not texturing and rigging (hence why my textures are rubbish, which will hopefully change when I get some animation education =P) So all the animations will be the old animal's, but if you make the face longer, it will still eat fine and everything apart from collision.

The places where lines meet are called vertices, and it's this you will be editing. The zebra has 458 vertices, if I remember rightly.

To my knowledge, because the animation relies on moving vertex point, you can't add or delete vertices (so things like winged wolves are out, unless you want wings like a plane =P)

Ok then:
What you need:
Nifskope.

...Yeah, that's the basic essential. You can use Nifskope, on its own, if you have the patience for trial/error or practiced in xyz space, because you'd be editing numbers manually.